Adam Love's Notes

Ideas and Life

Damn Good Tartare Sauce

I like tartare sauce; I always have. I eat it with fish and seafood, but for the ultimate treat, with steak tartare.

Most recipes, including this one, are based on the classic combination of mayonnaise and finely chopped ingredients. My variation is to use the capers whole and coarsely chop everything else. Warning; do not substitute relish for pickled cucumber. This is not a family secret recipe handed down over generations. I dreamed it up and whipped it up for the first time about ten years ago. It is named after my initial reaction to my first taste.

Tartare Sauce

  • 45 g (3 tbsp) Whole capers
  • 45 g (3 tbsp) Red onion
  • 45 g (3 tbsp) Pickled cucumber or dill pickle
  • 30 g (2 tbsp) Parsley
  • 75 g (5 tbsp) Mayonnaise

Coarsely chop the onion, cucumber and parsley so that the pieces are about the size of a caper. Mix all ingredients and chill in a refrigerator for a few hours, preferably overnight. Keep cool at all times, that applies to both you and the sauce. Serves one (if you’re fast.)

Did I mention that if you substitute relish for pickled cucumber a bolt of lightning will vaporise your barbecue?

Written by Adam Love

2010/06/30 at 05:06

Posted in Recipes

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There goes my barbeque.. Its gone.. its one with the universe now.. I shd have listened to ya

    **grin**

    http://coloredgrains.wordpress.com

    Kausambi

    2010/07/02 at 05:38

  2. I love this recipe. I really see this go great with fish fry. Thanks for sharing.

    Tes

    2010/06/30 at 05:59


Comments are closed.

