Adam Love's Notes

Ideas and Life

Old Cookbook to Yield New Pleasures

Canapes Cookbook CoverIf you think the design of the cover looks like something from the early 1950’s you’re correct, actually it’s ’53.

Was doing some housework and rearranging of shelves (as astounding as that may seem,) and came across this beautiful book I had forgotten. Not sure which I enjoy more, the cover and illustrations (in similar style) or the recipes. One of three slim volumes published by Peter Pauper Press in my small shelf of cookbooks.

Will enjoy the illustrations while deciding which of the recipes I like best. I’ll share the results, but warn you now, Devilled Eggs are likely to be near the top.

Written by Adam Love

2010/07/14 at 03:56

Posted in Cooking, Design

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love designing and I wanna pursuing career in styling and illustrating one day. I love old books and the simple designs in the old days. This cover looks beautiful, it makes me wanna search for it.

    Tes

    2010/07/14 at 06:37

    • Thanks, Tes, I’ll scan and post the other two in the future. The stroke with offset fill style was very popular in North America at that time.

      Adam Love

      2010/07/14 at 15:41


Comments are closed.

